Dancing outside my comfort zone

Social Media be Damned

A Much-Needed Wake-Up Call

This week I accidentally performed a test of my real impact on people via social media and the results were, to say the least, humbling. A unique alignment of factors which began with a three day Mexican cruise and ended with being laid low by a rather nasty virus meant that my desire and ability to post were non-existent for the better part of a week.

That means I didn’t link blog posts or share positive affirmations or inspirational quotes. I didn’t share any wins or revelations on the groups to which I belong. It is now a full week of near radio silence and guess what? NOBODY NOTICED.

Out of Sight, Out of Mind

Three people know why I’m not posting: two by happenstance and one because she’s my daughter. Not one, single person from all of my social media “friends” has even noticed I’m gone or, if they have, weren’t concerned enough to ask why. Before you think I’m wallowing in self-pity, I want to assure you that what I’ve learned from this is quite the opposite and far more valuable in the long run.

I’ve been guilty of wasting a lot of time and effort on something which doesn’t deserve that much of my attention. This was the wake-up call I needed to put my focus on myself and stop trying to uplift or encourage anyone but myself.

Sometimes, we just need a little reminder that if we want to improve ourselves, improve our lives, reaching out to others isn’t going to do the job. We need to do the internal construction and sometimes even demolition ourselves. Everyone else is far too busy making something of their own lives to be concerned about where ours is going (unless, of course, they’re receiving compensation for their troubles).

Like so many before me have learned, there will be a limited and scheduled time for my social media activities from now on. The rest of the time will be spent doing things which will actually improve myself, my skills, my life and me as a person. I couldn’t have a clearer message that social media not only can’t do these things but has probably been hindering my progress.

Today’s lesson leaves me with a very long list of gratitudes, but I’ll keep the list short for the sake of time and space.

1. I am grateful for lessons which come with pain as they remind me far longer than the pain-free ones do.
2. I am grateful for my self-sufficiency. It is something I know I can count on.
3. I am grateful for my talents and abilities. I overlook them and second guess them far too often. But I’m learning to appreciate just how valuable they are.
4. I am grateful for my cats who have snuggled all week, no matter how bad I smell or how long it takes for me to scoop their sand boxes.
5. I am grateful for abundance: talent, self-sufficiency, inspiration, motivation, healing, self-love, peace, harmony, philanthropy and prosperity.

Blessed Be

I invite you to visit my Facebook pages, Sheri Levenstein-Conaway Author and HLWT Accounting. Please also drop by my website, www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Comments on: "Social Media be Damned" (2)

  1. I did actually notice you were not posting but figured you were busy with life stuff. I know we all have been sick here. I know I have a gone a month and not posted no one actually noticed either, or at least, said anything, but when I did post again there they were. I was gone, but not forgotten and neither are you. I always read your post, even if I don’t comment. Sending you positive thoughts, vibes, and energy to heal your heart and mind and wishing you much abundance and love.

    Like

    • Thank you, Juneta. I hope things are going well for you and that everyone is healthy again. I appreciate your inspiration and encouragement. Maybe this is also a reminder for me to leave more comments myself?

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

