Dancing outside my comfort zone

Stepping into my Abundance

Beginning the Year with a Cliche

Ordinarily, I try to avoid the obvious topics in my blog, but I’m making an exception tonight. On this, the first day of a new year, I’m feeling empowered; I’m feeling hopeful, and above all, I’m feeling abundance. 2015 was an interesting year. For many it carried with it catastrophes both big and small. Lives and property lost under tragic circumstances. Saying good-bye to loved ones who’d fought the good fight but were exhausted and ready to move on. Or simply things which didn’t work out as planned.

For me, it was a year of changes. It was a year for joining critique groups and for altering my direction a bit. It was a year of stepping outside my comfort zone, not with baby steps, but with a couple of really giant steps. Writable

It was also a year when traditions were changed to accommodate scheduling issues, and the results were amazing. Heather and I got to cook for 18 people on Thanksgiving. The house might have been a bit crowded, but the company was wonderful, and we’ll do it again as soon as we get the chance. Christmas wasn’t at my house for the first time in years, and that, too, was wonderful. We shared Christmas lunch with Mathom and his shipmates after delivering cookies and cookie mix jars Heather had made for the people who had to work on Christmas. We had sushi twice and visited the baby animals at the Safari Park.

In short, it was a year of breaking with tradition on many levels. And it all worked out beautifully. Thanks to my friend Jesse, I’m getting out more and talking to people more which is about as far outside my comfort zone as it gets. I’m typically shy with strangers, but I spent a lot of time talking to people while she photographed events, and frankly, I loved it. And I discovered a couple more niches to write for.

Out With the Old, In With the New

But what does this have to do with the new year, you ask. Well, it was how 2015 shook out which led me to this place where I’m seeing the changes put in place last year manifesting some incredible things this year. Wheels set in motion in 2015 are on track to make some of my goals realities. Some will manifest this year while others are a bit further out. Baby steps are combining into larger steps now.

But the best part of all is the wonderful people with whom I’ve connected, and who I’ll continue to follow, encourage and be encouraged by. The ball has been set in motion and it’s gaining momentum.

Giving Thanks and Naming Names

The path I’m on now could not have been possible had it not been for the connections I’ve made and the people who made those connections possible.What you believe-Buddha As they are all equally important and valuable, this list is in no particular order other than what my brain spits out.

  • The Inklings, started in January by Seth and Gina Wagerman
  • Gina Horkey of #HorkeyHandbook Fame who created an amazing network of people via her 30DOL groups. It even led to my helping form a small mastermind group who were among the top pitchers for December!
  • Jesse Watrous who gave me my first by-lined writing gig on her website #DineSavorRepeat
  • #NaNoWriMo where I found incentive and encouragement to begin my third novel
  • Michelle Bellamy and Barb Lanier who encouraged me to follow the dream which had been smoldering inside me for many years
  • Heather and Mathom who have loved and encouraged me, nagged and abused me. But always, they show me by words and actions that being the best me is what’s important.
  • Candy Illing, butt-kicker extraordinaire who knows first-hand how long my dreams have been smoldering. She, herself is an outstanding example of a woman who follows her dreams.
  • All of my dance friends who have been so supportive and have never once questioned my sanity in jumping off the deep end into the unknown.
  • All of the people who’ve been reading my scribbles and letting me know that they are! Knowing they don’t just stop by once or twice, but read my words regularly is the ultimate encouragement.
  • Jesse Wolfe who has gone above and beyond to make sure my cats are well cared for on both planned and unplanned trips away from home.

Some of these people have been there since I began this journey more than 2 years ago while others joined the party in 2015. I am both inspired and humbled by their support, and blown away by how much this list has grown in a single year. Is it any wonder that I enter 2016 with such a feeling of abundance? My life is full to overflowing and it’s up to me to grow the vessel. How can I fail to do so?

My gratitudes tonight are:
1. I am grateful for the growth of my personal network.
2. I am grateful for the journals Heather gave me for Christmas which are the perfect size to write my first thoughts down after meditating.
3. I am grateful for beginnings and for endings. Both are necessary in order to grow and move forward.
4. I am grateful for my restocking efforts of the last couple of weeks. My freezer is again full of hot meals to keep me for awhile.
5. I am grateful for abundance: friendship, encouragement, camaraderie, joy, love, hugs, dancing, kitty cuddles, opportunities, expanding horizons, peace, harmony, health, philanthropy and prosperity.

Blessed Be

I invite you to visit my Facebook pages, Sheri Levenstein-Conaway Author and HLWT Accounting. Please also drop by my website, www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

