Dancing outside my comfort zone

When is a Kiss Not Just a Kiss?

I’ve been thinking a lot about kissing lately. Maybe it’s the time of year or maybe I’m in the throes of my own 7 or 14 year cycle. Either way, it’s on my mind. Being the inveterate researcher I am, I was compelled to search for answers like, for example, are there any health benefits to kissing?

All of the people who came up in my Google search seem to agree that there are a few things kissing is good for, even those little cheek busses we give to our friends with a hug (also good for your health, by the way). For example:

  • Kissing increases immunities. Believe it or not, swapping spit kicks your body’s immune-producing gremlins into overdrive and they start creating antibodies for everything you might…er…ingest while kissing.
  • Kissing helps prevent tooth decay. That’s right, swapping spit increases the saliva in your mouth which washes away tooth decaying bacteria.
  • Kissing reduces stress (and if you ask me, this a no-brainer). It’s tough to keep your mind locked on your lousy day when your lips are locked on someone else’s, right?
  • Kissing reduces levels of allergen antibodies, nipping allergies in the bud. I think I’ll share this with my feline-allergic friends!
  • Kissing makes you look younger. A few minutes a day of intense lip locking works your facial muscles, for a firmer, more youthful look.
  • Kissing also reduces or eliminates cramps an headaches. Funny how moving the blood from one part of your body to another will relieve pressure, huh?
All the Facts are Well and Fine, But Why the Fixation?

So I’ve satisfied myself that kissing is good for me, but it still doesn’t explain the fascination with all things smooch. In fact, I had to force myself to focus on the road on my drive down to my daughter’s the other night! It’s not as if there’s someone in particular I’d like to spend a little quality time with. To be honest, at the moment, there’s not a single man in my limited acquaintance who even stirs anything more than feelings of friendship in me. And yet, my imagination runs rampant with visions and feelings of exchanging this so intimate exchange with who? A nameless, faceless stranger!

Even my New Year’s plans are much the same as prior years. I have the choice of snuggling on the couch with my kitties or getting hot and sweaty on the dance floor with my friends. Both possibilities have their own kind of appeal (after all, I can always count on kitty kisses, especially from Dylan!)

Crisis Averted

Despite it all, I don’t believe I’m traveling down a dark, twisty road to my own destruction. On the contrary. I figure it’s just the Universe trying to tell me it’s time to unlock and unbar a door I’ve kept firmly sealed for long enough. Making me remember how fond I once was of kissing is a subtle reminder that the first step towards revisiting those feelings is to clear the way–a bit of decluttering in an emotionally energetic sort of way.

I’m not being given any sort of guarantee other than the one which tells me I’m guaranteed to get no kissing unless I remove the blocks which have, heretofore stood in the way. Of course, it’s still my choice to leave the blocks up, but why would I want to? They no longer serve a purpose and if truth be told, haven’t for quite some time. But like that pair of crazy pants you wore in the 80’s which got shoved to the back of the closet to be forgotten, such has been the intimate, interpersonal part of my life, and for nearly as long.

The closet has long since been cleared of clothes I’ll never wear again, so it’s about time I do the same with other parts of my life. Which begs the question, Do I really want to spend the next 30 or 40 years alone until I really do forget those amazing feelings of love,tenderness and intimacy? Or am I ready to tear down the walls I built, brick by brick from old hurts and disappointments. Is that really why I’ve spent the last 15 years or more turning my life around? Why expend the effort to love the person I am if I don’t intend to share that warm, loving energy with at least a few other people on various levels? And why only choose some levels when I can have them all?

So yes, I’m fixated on kissing for a reason, though it isn’t the obvious one. I’m simply being coached to open myself back up to all this lovely Universe has to offer instead of treating it like a Chinese take-out menu. If I want everything on columns A, B and C, I will have it, and the devil take the consequences!

My gratitudes tonight are:
1. I am grateful for the things which get stuck in my brain until I figure out why they’re there in the first place, and learn the lesson of the day.
2. I am grateful for the busy days and the lazy days that follow, reminding me I need both in my life.
3. I am grateful for my daughter and son-in-law. They bring me so much joy, whether we’re being serious (rarely) or making each other laugh.
4. I am grateful for my fur babies and grandbabies. They know just how to make me feel loved.
5. I am grateful for abundance: joy, peace, love, laughter, family, friendship, kindness, compassion, intimacy, caring, health, harmony, philanthropy and prosperity.

Blessed Be

I invite you to visit my Facebook pages, Sheri Levenstein-Conaway Author and HLWT Accounting. Please also drop by my website, www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be ve

Comments on: "A Kiss is Just a Kiss–or is it?" (1)

  1. I’ll never look at kissing quite the same again. hehehe

    Anna from elements of emaginette

    Like

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

