Rip off the mask, tear down the walls. Show the world your beautiful self!

With Better Understanding Comes Enlightenment

Yesterday I made the rash proclamation I was going to give the Paleo diet a try. However, today I did some research and with the help of The Ultimate Paleo Guide, I realized that my tastes alone, much less my propensity towards cooking and freezing large quantities just wouldn’t accommodate such a strict regime. Instead, I realize I just need to cut out the grains, if not entirely, by limiting consumption to infrequent occurrences. So without further ado, here are the 10 reasons I can’t eat like a cave (wo)man:

  1. Cheese – I admit it. I love cheese in so many shapes and styles. I love it sprinkled on vegetables, garnishing my turkey-pumpkin chili and too many other places to mention. When I’m starving but have no time to eat, a piece of cheese will keep me going for another couple of hours.
  2. Yogurt – It has allowed me to always eat the most important meal of the day; breakfast. Half a cup of non-fat greek plain with bee pollen and blueberries or honey is just what my newly awakened tummy can, well, stomach.
  3. Lentils – This lovely little legume has replaced beans of all sorts in my cooking. It is protein- and fiber- filled; in short, a nutritional kick start to whatever I decide to put it in.
  4. Squash – I have recently discovered a love of all things squash; be it pumpkin, butternut,spaghetti, acorn or kabocha. My harvest boxes boast squashes of all kinds, shapes and colors and far be it for me to turn my back on such bounty!
  5. Beets – how could I ever give up these lovely red and orange bulbs which grace my salads and smoothies with their smooth, rich flavor?
  6. Steel Cut Oatmeal – While I look for the gluten-free variety, when the mornings are freezing, I will forego my yogurt but only if I can have my oatmeal. This is non-negotiable and probably dates back to my childhood when a bowl of hot cereal was often the start of my day.
  7. Butter – I rarely eat toast so it’s not that I’d miss this spread on it. However, I do enjoy a bit of it on my potatoes (see more on that later) or veggies. Olive oil just doesn’t always cut it so I will use butter on occasion. And don’t even suggest making mashed potatoes without it.
  8. Potatoes – This isn’t something I eat every day or even every week, but I do enjoy them now and again. And if my potassium levels drop which they do on occasion, a baked potato with broccoli and cheese will often set me to rights.
  9. Almond and Coconut Milk – As these are recent developments and involve processing, I’m going to assume they’re not allowed. I use them in my smoothies and sometimes coffee. Again, not something I consume frequently, but enough that I can’t see giving them up.
    And last but not least
  10. Coffee – I am not fit for human interaction without my morning cup of coffee. Period. End of discussion. Fini. Don’t even ask me to enter a world where coffee isn’t on the menu, ok?
Making Adjustments that Fit My Lifestyle

I’m not one to set myself up for failure, though I will push to achieve things which seem impossible like, say, 50,000 words in a month. Knowing which foods I can comfortably live without is one of those things. But that doesn’t mean I can’t modify my diet and cut out some things I can openly admit I’ve been over-consuming of late. I’m not quite on track for the 20 pound loss by April, so I do realize change is necessary, but let’s be realistic, shall we? A small scoop of ice cream or a single piece of chocolate every so often isn’t going to blow my diet or cancel my resolve. I just have to renegotiate the meaning of “infrequent” with myself is all.

I may still look for paleo companies to pitch because, after all, I can write about something even if I don’t practice it myself, can’t I? Anyone can research a topic and write on it intelligently if they try. And so many of my healthy eating type posts will translate into Paleo, even if some will require a slight tweaking to fit the mold.

Healthy in Mind, Body and Spirit

Overall, I believe it’s important to feed the entire body Human. That means, for me, daily meditations, exercise, good food, pursuing my passion, and above all, always striving to improve in each of these areas. I do well for awhile, then slip if I don’t monitor what I’m doing. Then comes a period of adjustment and getting back on track. The cycle ebbs and flows, repeating itself, but never quite the same, and overall, I feel better for it, so some of it must be working!

My gratitudes tonight are:
1. I am grateful for the power of Google. I can learn new things with a few keystrokes.
2. I am grateful for the ability to understand myself; my strengths, my weaknesses and my limitations. But also to understand where I can make changes which will maximize the strengths and minimize the weaknesses. It’s an on-going project but I’m worth the effort.
3. I am grateful for new lessons learned and new confidence gained.
4. I am grateful for the love and good health of my furry family. Even when one is faltering, everyone joins forces to help them move back towards a state of healthiness.
5. I am grateful for abundance: confidence, initiative, motivation, inspiration, health, love, joy, peace, harmony, friendship, intelligence, philanthropy and prosperity.

Blessed Be

I invite you to visit my Facebook pages, Sheri Levenstein-Conaway Author and HLWT Accounting. Please also drop by my website, www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

