Dancing outside my comfort zone

Falling Back on the Tried and True

Last night I posted a minor rant about my missing holiday cheer. It was prompted by the small pile of gifts and the bins of packaging material which were littering my living room untouched.

The purpose of my mini rant was two-fold. First, I figured I wasn’t alone in feeling a bit let down and cheerless, holiday-wise at this time of year. Second, I knew that if I wrote about it instead of keeping it inside where it could fester, I’d purge myself of the crabbiness and get on with what I needed to do.

Getting Back in Working Order

I want you to know that it worked. I spent most of today shopping: not for anything major, but for those small things that make the holiday special–or at least they do in my house.

For me, it might be that special tea or cocoa for someone, a toy that makes weird grunting noises for my grandpuppy or just the right calendar for everyone on my guest list. Oh! And that brings to mind traditions.

We Have Traditions We Follow From Year to Year

When my daughters were young, I started doing certain things for them for Christmas/Chanukah, never realizing they’d become solid family traditions. Most of them weren’t that expensive and since money was tight in the early years, it made them that much easier to perpetuate. In fact, my daughter still follows many of them. So what are some of our traditions? Here’s a short list. Something to note is that for most of these items, fun is the operative word. No boring stuff for us!:

  • Pajamas
  • Socks
  • Underwear
  • A hard back book with a special message inscribed inside (this one isn’t necessarily silly. In the beginning, it was classics like Huck Finn and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea)
  • Kitchen gadgets
  • Calendars

Many people create family traditions intentionally as a means to instill certain values in their children, while others, like us, just sort of have them happen. An idea comes up one year and it goes over so well it happens from year to year until the holidays just wouldn’t be the same without it. However a tradition comes about, I think it’s a lot like an inside joke. It makes those inside feel warm and fuzzy, not only in the midst of traditional activities, but whenever they come to mind.

As for the rest of my holiday preparations, I managed to get a nice pile of gifts wrapped tonight too.

What is in Your Tradition?

I would love to hear how your family makes the holidays special and unique. Remember, it’s those little things which count more than expensive gifts or elaborate trips.

My gratitudes tonight are:
1. I’m grateful again for my writing which is the most effective, least expensive therapist I’ve ever found.
2. I am grateful for today’s shopping trip which yielded simple yet meaningful gifts for those I love.
3. I am grateful for the traditions my daughters and I created over the years.
4. I am grateful for the love and cheer I encountered while shopping today.
5. I am grateful for abundance: love, cheer, kindness, compassion, RAK’s, joy, friendship, happiness, cooperation, successes large and small, sharing, caring, health, hope, peace, harmony, philanthropy and prosperity.

Blessed Be

I invite you to visit my Facebook pages, Sheri Levenstein-Conaway Author and HLWT Accounting. Please also drop by my website, www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

