Rip off the mask, tear down the walls. Show the world your beautiful self!

Getting Back to Basics

Life After NaNoWriMo

A lot of things went to hell during November; so badly, I’m amazed I was able to complete my first NaNo while working a full-time job. Of course, I didn’t have bi-weekly critique groups, Thanksgiving dinner for almost 20 and events with my photographer friend either. I was also very focused about writing between 10 PM and midnight,something I am2015 Nano Winners Certificate not always on top of these days.

This year’s NaNo taught me a lot of things, but the one which impressed me most was prompted during the final week when procrastination had gotten me in a bad spot in spite of a terrific, 5,000-word first day. In short, I had about 4 days to write 15,000 words, give or take 100.

Impending Deadlines are my Best Friend

I’m going to say this very softly so the Universe won’t hear me, but I work best when I have a deadline looming. In fact, if my deadline is 3 or 4 days away, I am bound and determined to finish with no less than 2 days to go. That’s where I found myself last week.

On Thursday November 26, I had about 37,000 words written. Being Thanksgiving and, as we’d celebrated early, a nice, alone, stay-in-my-pajamas kind of day, I further procrastinated. OK, that left 3 days to finish, on top of which, I had client work which had languished as well.

To make a long story short, I proved to myself I could write 10,000 words in a single day. It is not something I plan to do on a regular basis, but now I know I can do it. Note I did not say I wrote 10,000 good words. But I did write 10,000 words, and with the 3,000 I added the following day, finished with a day to spare. It’s amazing what you can do when someone holds a knife to your throat, even if the hand holding the knife was my own.

I wouldn’t recommend attempting my little marathon (though my first Nano saw 8,000 words in a single night of writing, beginning at 10PM and ending at 3AM.) Needless to say, I seem to need that push at some point in November, maybe to make me feel that I’ve really earned the right to say I’m a NaNo winner.

Taking a Little Break

Though my beloved Inklings have decided to continue our Wednesday Panera Write-ins through December, I used the time today to work on a blog post for one of the events I attended in November. Again, I hold the knife to my throat to finish the posts I owe by the end of this week. Something tells me life is going to continue to move at the rapid pace which was set in November so I have lost the procrastination time I stole.

The Excitement Never Ends!

And if the writing, accounting and VA work wasn’t enough, my 17 year old cat (who I thought was 18 going on 19) has developed an infection in her liver. She has never been the easiest cat tf50f8-familyandfriends321o medicate but now she has to have an antibiotic pill twice a day and two other meds once a day. Poor baby, but she also gets baby food rather than the kidney diet she’s been on until she starts eating again. Just another fun addition to my daily routine. At least my sweet girl knows I’m trying to help her and isn’t fighting the meds as hard as she might.

Nothing Left to do but be Grateful

Which leads me to tonight’s gratitudes:
1. I am grateful I’ve learned to read my cats and know when they need a trip to the vet.
2. I am grateful for a successful completion of NaNo #3.
3. I am grateful for work which fulfills me and is even starting to keep me busy.
4. I am grateful for the positive influences I enjoy every day.
5. I am grateful for abundance: Love, life, kitties, health, happiness, harmony, peace, forgiveness, inspiration, motivation, productivity, philanthropy and prosperity.

Blessed Be

I invite you to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

