Rip off the mask, tear down the walls. Show the world your beautiful self!

Turning the Tables on Obsessive Loops

I am an obsessive thinker. I see something that interests me and I think about it constantly. I imagine myself having it. I create conversations. I develop entire scenarios, all the while telling myself that because I’m making such a big deal about it, it isn’t really meant to be. I’m especially bad when it’s a person I’d like to meet. I’m my own self-fulfilling prophecy of failure.

This may be surprising coming from someone who walks the Laws of Attraction walk. I’ve made it work in so many areas of my life, but there are a still a couple where my in-bred insecurities take over. The most prominent is interpersonal relations. While I’d like imitate some of my friends who’ve never met a stranger, I’m more the “the world is a scary place!” kind when it comes to other humans.

Moving my Brain into a Quieter Place

It has been said that the best way to cure an addiction or, in this case, an obsession is to recognize the problem. During today’s meditation, that’s exactly what I did. After giving my current obsession a few minutes to spin itself around, I pressed the mental pause button. Then, I tried a few words to see how they made me feel. The first word was ‘Accept’. As soon as it formed in my thoughts, most of the tension in my body released. The second word was, coincidentally, ‘Release’. Again, I felt some of the remaining tension fade away. Finally, I gave my easing mind the word ‘Allow’.

As the last of the tension left my body, I smiled as I listened to a bird chirping loudly on my patio. I drifted on the winds I could hear stirring the leaves on the tree in my front yard. And I sank into the sounds of Scrappy Doo purring on my lap and Toby snuffle-snoring on the other end of the sofa.

My entire being was saying I like this place of accepting, allowing and releasing. It’s much nicer than that other place whose name I dare not utter lest I break the peace we’ve created.

Have I stopped my obsessive thinking for good? Have I ended the self-limiting thinking? Probably not. What I have done is given myself a tool to use when those thoughts start creeping in and gumming up the works. Like any healthy habit, it will take practice and repetition, but the memory of the change it wrought in just one application will motivate me to continue.

My gratitudes tonight are:
1. I am grateful for met deadlines.
2. I am grateful for progress on several projects today.
3. I am grateful for the company of my kitties.
4. I am grateful for continued healthy eating and food tracking.
5. I am grateful for abundance; productivity, health, peace, harmony, love, friendship, motivation, prosperity and philanthropy.

Blessed Be

I invite you to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

 

Tag Cloud

