Rip off the mask, tear down the walls. Show the world your beautiful self!

How Much do we Really Move in a Day?

About a week ago I realized that if I kept going the way I was, I would gain back everything I’d ever lost and then some, and increase my risk of health issues from diabetes to heart. I know what works but when I get frustrated, I let it slide, and my eating habits suffer. As I have too many reasons to stay healthy, I logged back into my MyFitnessPal account and began measuring and tracking.

The first thing I discovered was that since I switched from buying the single serving cartons of yogurt to buying the 32 ounce cartons of nonfat plain and just adding blueberries and honey, I was eating less than I thought. The first day, I measured out 3/4 of a cup and realized that it was a lot! The next day, I measured out 1/2 a cup and found that was about what I’d been spooning into the bowl anyway. I had been going a little light on the blueberries so now that I measure, I get 1/2 a cup of those too, plus about a teaspoon each of raw honey and l-glutamine powder. That and my Eeyore cup of coffee are more than enough to get my day going.

Today as I sat staring at the exercise log feeling like a bump on one, I thought about how lazy and sedentary I am, especially on days like today which was filled with meetings and appointments. I got up from my desk and starting doing my nightly chores without even thinking about it until I realized how much I really do move during the day, and that’s not including the 97 trips to the bathroom and to fill up my water bottle!

My day begins when I get out of bed, make it and lay on the floor to do some stretches while trying to ignore the pitiful sound of my cats using their “I’m starving half to death here” cries. Sometimes, they even try to get into the act by chewing on my hair, sitting on my feet or just smacking me in the face with their fluffy tails.

Stretching done, I head for the kitchen to prepare the slimy yumminess they all demand. First stop, the garage where their food is stored in a cabinet. Feed the two garage cats who actually work for their keep. Then it’s back to the kitchen to put food into 5 bowls (heaven forbid they share!), add cosequin to my 18-year-old’s food and vitamins to all plus a teaspoon. Dylan doesn’t like wet food but he loves his fish-flavored vitamins. Believe it or not, these bowls go into 4 different rooms and have to be distributed strategically so certain boys don’t try to eat everyone else’s food.

Finally it’s time to fix my own breakfast before sitting down to check email and actually do some work. Throughout the rest of the day, I get up to check mail, fix myself lunch and dinner and a multitude of other tasks, many of which involve walking into a room, wondering why I’m there, walking out and remembering once I’m back where I started. By the time I’ve done all that, scooped the sand boxes, cleaned up the kitchen and prepared coffee for the next morning, I’ve circumnavigated my small house at least 20 times. Add in laundry and errand day and I’m moving a whole lot more than I thought.

MyFitnessPal has an item under Exercise entitled “Cleaning, light, moderate effort”. After careful consideration, I feel quite safe putting 60 minutes a day in that category on my log. Most days it’s probably more especially when I consider having to sweep the bathrooms daily because certain somebodies are incapable of keeping the sand in the specified container.

The good news is, I’ve dropped about 4 pounds this week, I’m eating a lot less starchy foods and more salads and I feel better. Sure, it’s a pain to log everything, but I’ve found some shortcuts which, while perhaps not entirely accurate, get me close enough and allow me to see when I’m consuming too many calories, or rather, when I’m about to. I certainly don’t expect to keep losing 4 pounds a week, but seeing those numbers go down instead of up, even if it’s very slowly, is good enough for me.

How do you insure that you’re sticking with your healthy habits?

We all have things in our life we’d like to improve. Sometimes we make those improvements without thinking about it just because we have the desire to do better. But when you’ve had to put something in place to motivate yourself, what kinds of things work for you? I don’t know about you, but I’m always open to new ideas.

My gratitudes tonight are:
1. I am grateful for all of the little things.
2. I am grateful for friendship, for both the give and the take.
3. I am grateful for finding things to motivate myself.
4. I am grateful for stepping outside my comfort zone again.
5. I am grateful for abundance: love, health, friendship, motivation, work, kindness, compassion, charity, philanthropy and prosperity.

Blessed Be

I invite you to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

 

Tag Cloud

