Rip off the mask, tear down the walls. Show the world your beautiful self!

September 15, 2015 Yawn Worthy

Struggling to Find Something Interesting to Say

I feel like I’m becoming very boring. I get up every day, sometimes early, sometimes later than I’d like. I stretch (sometimes), feed the cats, get my coffee and bowl of yogurt with blueberries and honey and sit down at my computer. I skim through emails, deleting most until I feel like my eyes have woken enough to insert contacts. Then it’s back to the computer to check my stats, social media and maybe read a couple of articles before starting work for the day.

Once a week I leave the house to run my errands but except for dancing, I am just here alone with my cats aside from phone calls and texts which are mostly from my daughter. Once in awhile, I’ll really change it up and visit or have lunch with a friend, but those occasions are few and far between.

I’m not looking for sympathy here or trying to sound pathetic as, for the most part, this lifestyle suits me. The one thing it doesn’t give me is something interesting to write about.

I do have an interesting event planned for next week, at least. A local photographer did a giveaway to advertise her services, and I won a free photo shoot. Ordinarily, I’d have passed on it as I hate having my picture taken, but I really do need a decent head shot for my online presence as well as for the “about the author” blurb should I do any guest posts. So one day next week, I’ll get up, wash my hair, put on makeup and choose something fetching to wear for my picture.

Letting ADD Mind Take Over

Since I stopped to fiddle with my nails, I guess I’ll follow that thought now. About 3 weeks ago, I took the plunge and removed the acrylics I’d been wearing for over a decade. It wasn’t a wild hair, but the result of issues my manicurist was having with her eyes and hand. I realized I didn’t want to go through the process of finding another manicurist so I told her I’d just take them off and be done with it. Needless to say, my nails are beyond wrecked and the gel manicure she gave me (not to be confused with gels) was only marginally successful in keeping what was left intact.

My daughter has been using Jamberrys so I thought I’d give that a try, thinking the extra layer would help preserve what was left. Sad to say, I’ve spent far too much time filing off lifting corners to the detriment of my already flimsy nails so I think I’ll save what’s left of the contact paper for nails until my own provide a more substantial palate. Meanwhile, I bought some fun colors of polish, some stuff to strengthen my nails and a quick dry topcoat as I’m rather clumsy and impatient when it comes to painting my own nails.

One of the Jamberrys has already gone by the wayside, leaving just a bit of stickum on the nail. By the end of the week, I figure they’ll all be gone and I can try my hand at painting again with a cup of acetone nearby to clean up the mess I’m sure to make. Why yes, as a matter of fact, I did intend to paint my knuckles. It’s a new fashion trend. Haven’t you heard? Stay tuned for pictures that will make your two-year-old’s efforts look professional!

I think that’s enough excitement for tonight. I don’t know about you, but my poor old heart can only take so much!

My gratitudes tonight are:
1. I am grateful for the small things. Many small things do add up.
2. I am grateful for a job which does not require me to drive anywhere during rush hour, especially when it’s raining.
3. I am grateful for new adventures, no matter how small they might seem to others. A step outside the comfort zone is a step outside the comfort zone.
4. I am grateful for the progress I’m making on my book. It, too, might seem small to others, but the fact of the matter is, I have 10 chapters and 68 pages behind me now and this time, I’m completely reworking the story, cutting mercilessly and rearranging chapters like there’s no tomorrow.
5. I am grateful for abundance: courage, strength, persistence, compassion, kindness, love, joy, happiness, health, harmony, peace, prosperity and philanthropy.

Blessed Be

I invite you to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

