Rip off the mask, tear down the walls. Show the world your beautiful self!

Guess We Bit Off More Than We Could Chew

My daughter planned an amazing 3-day trip to Disneyland to celebrate both my birthday and her anniversary. Naturally, we went a bit overboard on Day 1 and Day 2 suffered as a result, but all in all, we’re enjoying the trip immensely. Our feet, however, would argue as she and I have both acquired a blister or four. In fact, what I thought was a callous on my big toe came away in a not-so-pretty mess when I tried to trim it. Meanwhile, my daughter is nursing a bruised and battered toe from an injury sustained at home shortly before the trip. And still, we soldier on. So what if we were back in the hotel before the sun went down, eating leftovers from last night for dinner? There was a pleasant interlude when we sat with our feet in the jacuzzi talking to other hotel guests who were also here to enjoy Disney’s world of childish joy.

Though Day 1 lasted (for me) from about 9 AM until well after 10, (the kids are up and out before 8 as they’re used to rising earlier than this writer!), I pooped out around 3:30 and the kids were about an hour behind me today. It’s only right that the young pups last longer, but tomorrow should prove interesting if our feet continue to protest the walking. We’ve ridden a few rides in the last two days, but nothing close to what we’ve done in the past. This time around, we’re just not willing to stand in line for an hour to ride a 2 minute or less ride. Instead, we’re spending more time people watching, wandering through the shops and listening to music at various venues around the park.

Despite this being the middle of the week, there are still tons of people clogging the streets, standing in line and just coming and going in droves. It could be that for many, it’s the last week of summer before school starts combined with the 60th anniversary celebration, though yesterday seemed a lot less crowded than today.

Making Good Use of Our Park-Hopper Tickets

Yesterday, we split our time between the two parks and Downtown Disney. Today, we were in the main park all day, although the kids might have seen a bit of California Adventure before I got moving. Tomorrow, we plan to start in California Adventure, and as far as I’m concerned, we could stay there all day and it wouldn’t hurt my feelings. With seriously sore tootsies, I just don’t see us putting in the 15 or 20 thousand steps we managed the first day. The kids did close to 17,000 today but I doubt I even hit 10,000. I don’t know for sure as the nicely charged Fitbit I planned to bring is still on my desk at home so I’m dependent on Heather’s all-in-one watch. They had already gotten in about 7,000 steps before I joined them today, and I left them early, so I have a feeling my guesstimate is accurate.

As I sit here tonight, a blister on the bottom of my little toe and the outside edge of my big toe smeared with Neosporin, the idea of walking around all day is looking iffy and in fact, I’m fearing for my dancing this weekend. Wouldn’t you know, this is the first time I’ve forgotten my first-aid kit? Thankfully, I have one in the trunk of my car as there are many band-aids in the future of my feet!

Still, we’re making some amazing memories and have pictures with many of the Disney Princesses as well as Tigger and Eeyore (my personal favorite) to show for it. Sore feet and all, this is a 60th birthday celebration I will never forget!

I realize this is called ‘The Happiest Place on Earth’, but in years past, we’ve done our best to avoid a lot of cranky, impatient people. This time around, as crowded as the place is, people are, for the most part, friendly, patient and kind. And that’s just the guests! The Cast Members are something else! Despite the heat, the crush and even guests who could be nicer, they are all smiling, cheerful and helpful beyond belief! There is still a large percentage of young people filling the positions from ticket takers to characters, but I noticed this year that there are quite a few people who are my age or older. Some man the gate where they don’t have to be on their feet all day, but just as many, if not more are working in maintenance or at the many information areas where they’re on their feet in the heat for hours. They, too maintain a genuinely cheerful demeanor which impresses the heck out of me. Sure, some of them might move a bit slower than their younger counterparts, but they still get the job done and, more importantly, they are still smiling.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I think Disney deserves kudos for their clear lack of age discrimination. For many, Disneyland is their first job, but these days, there is a large group for whom it will be their last one. If you ask me, there are far worse ways to spend the last years of your working life.

My gratitudes tonight are:
1. I am grateful for a wonderful week with my kids.
2. I am grateful for walking too much, eating more overly rich food than I see in several years and getting more sunshine than I see in months. There is a time and a place to act like a kid, I’m lucky to have a daughter and son-in-law who see fit to give me that opportunity.
3. I am grateful for my daughter and her hubby who are taking time out of their busy lives to make my 60th a year to remember.
4. I am grateful for the people we’ve met this week. Where else but a huge theme park can you meet and talk to people from everywhere in the world, and for once, there’s no hate?
5. I am grateful for abundance, walking, eating, sunshine, joy, exercise, love, happiness, silliness, peace, harmony, health, prosperity and philanthropy.

Blessed Be

I hope you’ll take a moment to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

