Dancing outside my comfort zone

Are You Affected by One Phase of the Moon or Another? You Might Not Even Realize it!

I was hoping I’d escaped this week’s full moon unscathed, and the productiveness I enjoyed the first part of this week allowed me to escape into blissful oblivion… until it blindsided me! In fact, I was so excited by what I was accomplishing and the reconnection with my ADD’s favorite study tool, old rock ‘n roll, that I was ripe for having the virtual rug pulled out from under me.

In the midst of this wave of productivity, I failed to connect the dots. I failed to notice how hard it was for me to fall asleep at night; the lengths to which I was going just to sleep in two hour spurts. I failed to recognize the ineffectiveness of my daily meditations or that there were days I skipped them entirely. I even failed to connect my inability to sit still long enough to allow a blog topic to form in my brain last night, much less actually write something!

Today, when I’m running on less than 5 hours of real sleep and am having the very devil of a time even figuring out what I want to do, it finally hit me. That crazy full moon which is 5 days behind me now is messing with me in a very real way.

Nothing I eat satisfies. Nothing I read engages. Nothing on TV holds my attention for more than 30 seconds. Yet I don’t know what it is I want. I sit here twitching restlessly as if I’ve consumed a gallon of high octane coffee instead of the single mug-full I enjoy every morning. I know I’m communicating the anxiety or restlessness or whatever it is to my cats because at least two of my boys, and often all four are constantly near me. Meanwhile, Munchkin, who would be perfectly happy to lay on my lap for hours most of the time can’t even stay there for the hour I set aside to meditate. She jumps down after a few minutes, often returning, then leaving again.

Susan Rinkunas addresses the issue of sleep loss during a full moon in her article published in Health Magazine August 8, 2014. Swiss researches did a study which was published in Current Biology and found that:

…in the four days before and after a full moon, participants took 5 minutes longer to fall asleep, slept 20 minutes less overall, and had 30% less deep sleep. They also had lower levels of the sleep-inducing hormone melatonin.

Though Ms. Rinkunas also states that the results of the study could not be replicated, it is clear, at least to me, that there’s some merit to the study’s results. Although there are a multitude of theories concerning the moon and its effects on our bodies and minds, I found, for the most part that the scientific community refers to them as ‘myths’ and each writer cites lists of statistics which effectively debunk the myths.

I’m not convinced. One article did make a brief reference to the fact that our bodies are 75% water and admitted that the moon does affect the tides. Why then, not humans as well? Not to mention animals and anything else which, like us is comprised mostly of water. It makes sense to me that when the moon is full, and particularly when, like this past week, that full moon was relatively close to the earth, that it could affect things like sleep pattern by short-circuiting our circadian rhythm.

Being the inquisitive sort, and one whose thoughts do a fair rendition of the kitty 500, only inside my head instead of from one end of my house to the other, I’m tempted to look back over the past year to see what I was writing during the full moons, give or take four or five days. The ADD part comes in because a friend told me recently that I have very definite patterns. Could those patterns have any relation to the moon?

Meanwhile, as is so often the case, the mere act of writing about my feelings and concerns has brought a certain amount of calm to the frantic pacing my mind had adopted of late. Though I couldn’t really tell you if it’s the physical act of writing or typing or just putting the thoughts into words, it’s the result that matters. It also reminds me that I make better decisions when I write about them first, allowing all of the pros and cons to just flow out on the page to be argued or discarded as I see fit. Granted, some of those thoughts and decisions are stashed away on a flash drive or CD for years, but inevitably, if they were truly important to me, they’ll come back around again when I’m ready to consider them without all of life’s background noise trying to intrude. Just as I write about things which are painful, things I regret, things for which I feel guilt or other unproductive but legitimate emotions. Those are the things which may never see the light of day because I write them only for myself, for my own healing, and most of all, seeking my own forgiveness.

My gratitudes today are:
1. I am grateful for my writing. It is my friend, my nemesis, my salvation and my frustration. It is always with me and often escapes me. But it is truly, personally, unconditionally mine.
2. I am grateful for the company of my cats when I just can’t get it together, even if they reflect my restlessness in their own increased activity.
3. I am grateful for my friends who put ideas into my head. Those who know me best are fully aware that I may not act on them right away, but will pull them out when the time is right.
4. I am grateful for my preference for my own company, and for understanding that I must allow others in on a regular basis anyway.
5. I am grateful for abundance: love, life, friends, music, potential, opportunities, words, wisdom, health, harmony, peace, joy, prosperity and philanthropy.

Blessed Be

I’d appreciate your taking a moment to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

