Dancing outside my comfort zone

Looking Back on the Last 7 Months

I don’t know whether it’s the lazy, heat-filled days of summer or the nostalgic music of my high school and college days playing in the background, but today I was prompted to look back at all I’ve accomplished this year. I choose only to look at this year and not the entire time I’ve been pursuing a writing career, eschewing the security of a regular paycheck because it wasn’t until this year that I’ve really seen progress.

Certainly, I’ve still found myself wandering off track and trying to pursue the mighty buck instead of being true to my craft, but all in all, this year has been one of forward momentum. The list might not be a long one, but each accomplishment meant hours upon hours of my heart and soul poured out on a page, and more, ruthlessly edited, knowing that it won’t be the first time I cut the children of my imagination to pieces, only to reassemble them again in ways I hope will improve them and make them interesting to someone besides myself. So without further ado, here is what makes me feel that this year has been worthwhile:

  • Completed the first edit of Sasha’s Journey
  • Completed the first draft of A Dubious Gift
  • Completed the second edit of Sasha’s Journey’s first four chapters
  • Started a new short story, The Elemental Tree
  • Completed Gina Horkey’s 30 Day Freelance course.
  • Sold 6 blog posts to BlogMutt
  • Launched my web page on which I continue to make improvements as I learn new things.
  • Got my first blogging client
  • Read numerous books about writing and put some of what I’ve learned into practice (thank you, Mr. Bradbury and Mr. King to name just two).
  • Re-organized my office into a writer’s office instead of an accountant’s office, complete with white board, colored pens, magnets and 5 x 7 index cards.
  • Cleared a shelf for my books on writing.
  • Continue to improve on my daily routines and To Do list.
  • Worked with a local critique group both critiquing and being critiqued (put my children’s story, Frederick the Gentlemouse up for review) where I’ve learned a great deal both from critiquing the work of others and listening to what other members of the group have to say.

Though these things might only mean something to me and maybe another writer, they demonstrate that I’m moving in a positive direction towards my goal of being a writer and published author. Though I have more than my share of moments when I ask myself whether I’ve lost my mind and should really get out and find a real job again, those moments are less and less frequent. I’ve faced a lot of fears this year, allowed some to stop me dead in my tracks for awhile and managed others. I will continue to face down those fears and plenty of others which spring up along the way. But as long as I can take stock like this and see what I have accomplished, I know that everything is going to work out just fine.

Most of all, in one way or another, I write every single day (writers don’t really have weekends. They’re just another day to write). It might only be a blog post, though now, it’s often two; one for me and one for my client. I’ve learned that sometimes I need to write a post then walk away from it for a few hours before actually sending it out into the world. Other times, I’m just the pantser I’m so comfortable being and let the thing fly once I’ve checked for obvious typos and grammatical errors, of course! What I realized today after logging so many accomplishments, in fact, more than I realized when I started this post, is that I love the life I have. I love it when I’m creating like crazy. I love it when I’m editing, now that I’ve figured out the formula to make it work for me. I love it when I’m paying my bills at the beginning of the month. And I even love it through those moments of insecurity and dread. Why? Because it’s real. Because it’s mine. And most of all, because I truly am living the dream I set 5 decades ago.

My gratitudes tonight are:
1. I am grateful for the opportunity to check in with myself and find that I’m right on schedule.
2. I am grateful for friends and family who continue to believe in what I’ve chosen to do.
3. I am grateful for the healthy meals with which I stock my refrigerator and freezer (tonight’s take out Chinese notwithstanding)
4. I am grateful for the morning stretches my body has forced me to adopt. The 20 or 30 minutes I spend giving my body attention pays off in ways I didn’t even imagine.
5. I am grateful for abundance: accomplishments, joy, love, productivity, imagination, inspiration, friendship, kitty love, health, harmony, peace, prosperity and philanthropy.

Blessed Be

I’d appreciate your taking a moment to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

