Rip off the mask, tear down the walls. Show the world your beautiful self!

Finding Productivity in Strange Places

I love computers. I really do. They’ve simplified my life in so many ways, but there are times… Today, I made the second call in three months to get a copy of my life insurance policy. What ensued was three hours of being passed back and forth between two departments, conference calls with the insurance company who, according to them “only handles the billings” and even the predecessor company. Yet the answer from them all was the same: We’re very sorry, but we can’t find you in the computer.

This is exactly why so many of us have developed a serious love/hate relationship with our electronics. We know that at some point they will fail us. To add insult to injury, while waiting on hold for yet another department at the insurance company, the call failed! Thankfully, I’d gotten the phone number before being put on hold number 97.

I am not one to sit idly for hours on end. In fact, being forced to do so gives me the twitches and sends my ADHD into paroxysms bearing a nasty resemblance to seizures, thankfully, sans loss of control or writhing on the floor. Instead, I simply cannot sit still. The cell phone and bluetooth headset have saved my sanity more than once.

Today was no exception, but I was able to put my proclivities to good use for a change, and that’s where the idea for this post blossomed. Without further ado, here are 10 things to do while being put on hold, transferred and otherwise thwarted:

  • 1. Pull everything out of the closet while searching vainly for 20-year-old documents, only to find the Miracle Balls I was looking for two weeks ago.
  • 2. File 3 months worth of investment documents.
  • 3. Scoop the litter boxes.
  • 4. Retrieve the snail mail.
  • 5. Clean and cut a pound of green beans.
  • 6. Fold a load of towels.
  • 7. Do a weight workout.
  • 8. Answer emails.
  • 9. Brush two cats.
  • 10. Manage to hold my temper despite being asked to verify my identity every time the another person was brought into the conversation.

Original Mission: Not Accomplished

Though I failed to actually achieve the results I desired, I actually got more than I bargained for. I have to wait a couple of days to see if one of the people I called is able to locate my ancient records in another department, but in the meantime, I have drafted a scathing letter to MetLife requesting immediate resolution to my problem either by locating the exact department for whom they’ve been collecting (and raising) my premiums for the past 20 years, or a refund of all funds they’ve collected since nobody would have been able to access my policy given what I learned today. I’m not a patient person as a rule, and of all the people I spoke to today, MetLife employees were the least helpful of all, clearly not giving a damn about the people they suck money from. By the time I’d spent over three hours on the phone, fueled only by a cup of coffee and a carton of yogurt, they had used up at least a year’s worth of my quota of patience, and will see that dam burst rather impressively should Boeing fail to locate the records by Friday.

I am happy to report that the positive results of so much forced idleness were enough to keep the eruption at bay for the moment. Though the Miracle Balls are somewhat deflated and I have to wait a few days to find out just how much is in my pension account and how it can be paid out, I feel that, overall, I received far more than I still lack. I also learned a valuable lesson about keeping my overly sensitive BS meter happy.

My gratitudes tonight are:
1. I am grateful that I learned about funds I’d forgotten even existed.
2. I am grateful for all the tasks I accomplished instead of sitting and staring at the wall.
3. I am grateful for the motivating phone call and butt kicking I got from a dear friend today. She gave me a lot to think about and a much-needed deadline to meet. Now to just conquer those pesky fears and get on with it.
4. I am grateful for the calming influence of my cats who stayed very close all day today.
5. I am grateful for abundance: love, friendship, cheerleading, inspiration, motivation, health, harmony, peace, prosperity and philanthropy.

Blessed Be

I’d appreciate your taking a moment to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

