Rip off the mask, tear down the walls. Show the world your beautiful self!

Positivity is Like Marriage: If You Don’t Put the Effort in, It’s Destined to Fail

As I wait impatiently for my shoulder to return to its normal, healthy, burden heaving self, it’s been very easy to sink into the doldrums of self-pity and anxiety over things left undone. The latter is compounded both by my tendency to be a hermit and my reticence over asking for help. Through it all, though, despite a certain languidness brought on, first by the pain and later by the effects of the muscle relaxers and occasional pain pill (I try to use those sparingly), I realized this morning that I’ve actually managed to accomplish more than I realized. In an effort to both inspire myself and raise the level of positive energy in my house, I’m going to share the week’s accomplishments.

  • My cats have not missed a single breakfast of wet food.
  • I did two loads of laundry
  • I’ve made the bed every day
  • I’ve cleaned up the kitchen every night
  • I’ve emptied, cleaned and refilled the litter boxes
  • I’ve scooped the litter boxes (almost) daily
  • I’ve picked up my weekly produce box
  • I’ve used a free weight to exercise my arm several times a day
  • I’ve taken the trash out
  • I’ve gone dancing on all of my regular dance nights
  • I’ve brushed my teeth and taken my vitamins (almost) every day
  • I’ve done my daily meditations
  • I’ve done the monthly work for a client
  • I’ve sent out a couple of pitch letters
  • I’ve run the dishwasher and put the dishes away
  • I’ve done my monthly billing
  • I’ve written at least 2 blog posts per week
  • I’ve learned how to use the mouse with my left hand
  • I cooked myself a yummy 4th of July dinner.
  • I’ve put the laundry away as soon as it was done instead of leaving it in the dryer for daysSomething I’ve learned since trading in my negative attitude several years ago is that just knocking a task off of your To Do list, no matter how lazy, crappy, or otherwise unpositive you might feel raises your vibration. There’s no way around it. You just can’t feel bad about completing a task. That’s part of the reason I keep a To Do list on my computer. That way, I can look back on those days when my mood is dour and say Why, look at that! I made my bed every single day and blogged 4 times! I meditated daily and kept the litter boxes clean! I guess it wasn’t such a bad week after all! I guess this is what they mean by living an attitude of gratitude. When you find enough little things to be grateful for, suddenly, you have a big load of gratitude to boost your mood and make you feel like you’re living a worthwhile life.

    Real Wealth is Never About How Much Money or Stuff You Have

    I’ll be the first to admit that having enough money to pay the bills, fix up the house, take care of the animals and give money to charity is nothing to be sneezed at. That doesn’t mean you can’t make do with what you have, or do something to improve your situation. I’ve spent more time than I care to admit uttering those hateful words “I can’t afford…” only to realize that I’m attracting that lack and de-motivating myself. It’s doing things like going over my list of accomplishments and focusing my attention on what I can do and what I do have that I can stuff those motivation sucking thoughts back into the garbage where they belong.

    Paying Homage to My Leap of Faith

    I took a leap of faith a couple of years ago, trusting in myself to do what was necessary to make something of my writing; to make a career that would make me happy and fulfilled. Allowing myself to even think lack thoughts is to say I have no faith in myself, and if that’s true, then I should be combing the job boards for gainful employment instead of continuing to make writing my sole source of sustenance, both physical and emotional. Do I dare lose faith in myself? Do I dare stop trusting that the Universe is on my side and willing to help me attain my goals? Do I dare give up without giving it the old college try? If I do, I might as well just cash it all in and admit to a life of little worth. I’m not going to do that!

    In life, there are setbacks, and it’s how we respond to those setbacks which determine the person we really are. For me, giving up is not an option. I’ve always been a fighter, even when it wasn’t necessarily in my own best interests. Why change that now? In each and every case, it’s eventually worked out for the best. A door may have closed, but a better one eventually opened, and I moved further along my own, personal continuum. Perhaps the gimpy shoulder was just another reminder that I can either give in or do whatever is necessary to improve my situation. Guess which one I’ll choose.

    My gratitudes today are:
    1. I am grateful for the challenges and setbacks which test my convictions and commitment to my goals.
    2. I am grateful for the ability to turn my attitude around with just a little gratitude and self-congratulations.
    3. I am grateful for my alone time. It gives me an opportunity to work through the crap and figure out what’s really bothering me.
    4. I am grateful for the appetite suppressing tendencies of the muscle relaxers while my activity level has been lower than normal.
    5. I am grateful for abundance: challenges, lessons, setbacks, thinking time, kitty nurses, extra sleep, love, joy, kindness, compassion, friendship, peace, harmony, health, prosperity and philanthropy.

    Blessed Be

    I’d appreciate your taking a moment to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

