Dancing outside my comfort zone

Sometimes, You Just Need a Helping Hand

I will be the first to admit that I am the Queen of Independence. I have to be in a really tight spot before I’ll ask for help. Admittedly, I’ve grown smarter with age, and ask a lot sooner than I used to but it is still one of my faults.

After two weeks of suffering severe pain in my right shoulder and arm and intermittent numbness in my left arm, the time came when I got off my independent high horse and made an appointment with the chiropractor as the homeopathics and essential oils were only somewhat effective. As it turns out, I had, as I suspected, ribs out of place, but it wasn’t the ones I thought. To me, it felt like it was on my right side in my abdomen, but the real culprits were in my chest.

I’d like to say I’m 100% better now, but that would be far too miraculous (though not unwelcome). I’m still using the homeopathics and essential oils, but I’m able to actually do a few things now, including working out at the gym. I’ve also discovered that I can do nearly anything, but in small doses. I’ve found that varying my activity at least every couple of hours helps as well. (some may say ‘duh’ as that is probably basic ergonomics, but still, it had to be said).

Sitting at the Computer for 8 Hours a Day: A Thing of the Past

It had to happen eventually. I had to realize that variety truly is the spice of life, and the protector of the body as well. I finally figured it out myself today. I have to get up and move around frequently. There’s no other option. I can’t spend 3 or 4 hours typing away on my computer because my shoulders, back and arms will rebel. But I also can’t sit on my butt and read for that same 3 or 4 hours straight.

This is all good news for my trusty To Do list, though, because, by changing tasks every couple of hours, more things get checked off. Today, for instance, I did two 20-30 minute sessions with the videos for my Holly Lisle writing course. I did my daily Tarot reading and I went to the chiropractor and the gym. I even got in a nap after my meditation since sleeping has not been very restful the last few days. I’m hoping tonight will see a change in that not-so-pleasant pattern.

When the sun started to dip into the western skies, I cooked a little dinner, put away the rest of the veggies, cleaned the kitchen and started doing laundry. When I sat down to watch some of the shows I’d recorded, I limited myself to two before going outside to enjoy the balmy evening and give some attention to my garage cats, one of whom has taken to climbing in my lap and doing some serious cuddling now that I have a chair on the porch for her snuggling sessions. The snuggling session was delayed temporarily when a crash from the vicinity of the kitchen followed by two very guilty looking orange furballs fleeing the scene led to another time out for Mr. Scrappy Doo, aka Mr. No Manners. It seems the open window in the kitchen was just too much of a temptation, but his natural lack of grace was his undoing. He apparently slipped off the window sill knocking the dish drainer into the sink and scaring the bejeebers out of him and Toby (who probably had his nose in the food bowl) when everything clattered into the sink.

It actually feels pretty good to get a little bit of a lot of things done instead of a lot of one or two things. My ADD brain is liking the variety and I suspect it will show in the quality of my work as the days progress.

Coming Up in the World

On a completely different topic (as if any of my posts ever stay on just one. I’m the writing version of Lay’s potato chips!), I was doing Google searches for a post I’m writing for a BlogMutt client and happened to find that for both “Gratitude” and “Leaps of Faith” I have not one but two posts on the first page of the search. I was really excited at first but the bloom on the rose is already fading when I realized that my Google search is probably geared towards me. Anyone else doing those searches would probably have different results. But it feels good anyway, even if I’m the only one who sees the Google world as a friendly place for my posts!

All good things must come to an and, I’m afraid, and my typing time is drawing to a close, at least for now. I leave you, then, with my gratitudes, and hope you have a few of your own on this lovely summer evening.
1. I am grateful that my back problems are improving.
2. I am grateful that I finally asked for help.
3. I am grateful for a decent gym workout.
4. I am grateful to be back on my regular blogging schedule.
5. I am grateful to be back on a proactive track with my writing.
6. I am grateful for abundance: love, health, movement, results, progress, lessons, challenges, writing, learning, friendship, happiness, peace, harmony, prosperity and philanthropy.

Blessed Be

I’d appreciate your taking a moment to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

