Rip off the mask, tear down the walls. Show the world your beautiful self!

Bordering on Unethical

Let me preface this by saying that I have never been a fan of third party recruiters, especially those who place accounting professionals, but there are a couple of generalists out there who have also offended my sensibilities. However, this post is not about finger-pointing, so if you’re looking for names, you’re going to be disappointed. My experience with them, both as an applicant and a hiring manager has been less than impressive, to say the least. In fact, in all cases, they’ve ultimately let me down.

I have been 100% self-employed for about a year and a half and have even changed my LinkedIn account to reflect this. But even while I was working in the corporate world, I would receive emails from some of those with whom I’d had contact describing a position and asking if I had anyone in my professional network I could refer to them.

It was annoying enough when it was a. Someone I had had contact with and b. I was still employed myself. But lately I’ve been getting these sweet little missives from people and companies I’ve never heard of and they have the unmitigated gall, not to ask if I’m interested, but to actually expect me to help them earn their hefty commission or at least keep their manager pacified by adding another body to their inventory. Am I the only one who finds this offensive?

I’m sure some of these are the same companies who use a private rating system to avoid placing anyone over 40. I just find it all rather ballsy to reach out to someone you don’t know and ask them for a favor.

In several classes I’ve taken, the one thing they stress is that when you reach out to someone in an effort to establish a relationship, the smart money offers rather than requests something. So it makes me wonder just how successful these headhunters are at acquiring talent in this manner.

Short Post–Hooray!

I had to write this post in short spurts and will keep it short, overall as I’ve discovered that the pain in my shoulder which has been plaguing me this week is exacerbated by time spent either typing or using the mouse. I went to the gym today and have been working the arm with a 5 pound free-weight, but staying off of the computer is necessary if I want the darned thing to just heal already. I even availed myself of one of those cheapy massage places where a small, muscular Asian man really pushes into all of those pressure points. As I’m much better today, the residual pain in my back from the excessive pressure is worth it.

But in order to continue the improvement, I’ll bid you adieu for this evening, leaving you with my usual gratitudes:
1. I am grateful for improvement.
2. I am grateful for getting my lazy butt to the gym today.
3. I am grateful for friends who give me a kick in the butt when I need it.
4. I am grateful for all of the nurse kitties who have been taking care of me this week.
5. I am grateful for abundance: love, friendship, kindness, health, harmony, peace, prosperity and philanthropy.

Blessed Be

I’d appreciate your taking a moment to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

