Rip off the mask, tear down the walls. Show the world your beautiful self!

I Don’t Even Know Where to Begin

We hermits are a unique breed. We disappear for long periods of time and often lose all concept of time and space while we’re in our self-imposed isolation. When we emerge it is akin to a bear emerging from his cave after a winter’s hibernation. The sun is too bright so he blinks rapidly, allowing his eyes to adjust. The melting snow and preponderance of dirt patches isn’t the landscape he remembers, pre-nap.

Walking into the club where I dance tonight, seeing how my daughter had transformed half of the place into an alter kakker’s paradise (that’s old fart for those unfamiliar with common Yiddish terms), hugging so many friends and well-wishers…even now, I’m overwhelmed. The love in that room tonight washed over me in gentle waves yet I was surprised at both their softness and how often they flowed. There may have been birthdays in my past which passed with nary a whimper, but in the last few years, they just keep getting better.

As I sit her typing with two of my boys snoring on my desk and a third vying for my attention, I feel love from so many directions, and I feel extremely blessed. Even if I return to my hermit-y ways tomorrow, there is no doubt in my mind that when I emerge, that warm feeling of belonging will still be there.

The Evening Was But Half of my Blessings Today

As if a lovely day with my kids and an overwhelming outpouring of love tonight wasn’t enough, my day was full of surprises. The bling provided by my daughter and friends was the icing on the beautiful cake that was my day. I also reconnected with another person from my distant past (would you believe, one of my dance friends is a mutual friend?) and I received positive feedback on both my blog and my Hire Me page from an unexpected direction. It just goes to show that we really need to scatter our birdseed. It will attract some very interesting and unusual species to our world. I’m learning that we don’t need a million people to visit our website. We just need the ones with whom we can create mutually beneficial relationships. We also never know when a relationship we formed some time in the past might open a door for another one.

We truly are all in this together, and we are connected in ways we cannot even imagine. I am further reminded to hold good thoughts for others, no matter what. That doesn’t mean I have to interact with them all or forget those who abuse my trust. It simply means that there’s a time to forgive the perceived hurt, remember when to watch my back and move into a place which is more conducive to my own growth and prosperity. At the same time, keep my thoughts positive and wish the person or people well in their own journey. It isn’t for me to understand why they do what they do. It is simply for me to accept that they have their own choices to make and paths to follow. If I allow someone else’s actions to alter my course, the only responsible party is me.

OK, I’m starting to sound preachy again, when I merely set out to share my joyful, blessed feelings. That means it’s time to share my gratitudes and close.
1. I am grateful for the blessings in my life: my friends, my family, shared values, joys and even the sorrows. Sharing the sorrows allows some to give compassion and others to receive it.
2. I am grateful for the best birthday ever.
3. I am grateful for a lovely night of dancing and time to talk to my friends too.
4. I am grateful that I can return to a quiet house with just my kitties for company (though they all had to investigate the bags I brought inside with me as their curiosity must be satisfied), just as I am grateful for the time I get to spend with my daughter and son-in-law.
5. I am grateful for abundance: friendship, love, blessings, happiness, joy, inspiration, motivation, health, peace, harmony, prosperity and philanthropy.

Blessed Be

I hope you’ll take a moment to visit my Facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/SheriLevensteinConawayAuthor?ref=aymt_homepage_panel and https://www.facebook.com/HLWTAccounting . Please also drop by my website, http://www.shericonaway.com and check out my Hire Me Page. I’ve created these pages as a means of positive affirmation and would be very grateful if you’d “like” them or leave a comment! Thank you!

Tag Cloud

