Dancing outside my comfort zone

August 9, 2014 How Mundane

Lately, I find myself using the word “mundane” quite frequently. I know what I mean when I use it, but as Mr. Webster might disagree, I thought I’d look at his meaning to see if it bears even a remote resemblance to mine.

Googling the word led me to the following:

1.lacking interest or excitement; dull. “seeking a way out of his mundane, humdrum existence”
synonyms: humdrum, dull, boring, tedious, monotonous, tiresome, wearisome, unexciting, uninteresting, uninvolving, uneventful, unvarying, unremarkable, repetitive, repetitious, routine, ordinary, everyday, day-to-day, run-of-the-mill, commonplace, workaday;
informalplain-vanilla, ho-hum
“her mundane life”
antonyms: extraordinary, imaginative
2.of this earthly world rather than a heavenly or spiritual one. “the boundaries of the mundane world”
synonyms: earthly, worldly, terrestrial, material, temporal, secular, areligious;

And so it appears that the dictionary does, indeed, share my interpretation and use of the word in their second example. I do find it interesting that though it’s an either/or scenario, to me, there comes a point where something that is merely on the earthly, tangible level does, indeed become dull. Such a viewpoint strikes me as very one-dimensional while including spirituality, nay, Divinity in the equation turns a flat canvas into a multi-dimensional vista of awe inspiring proportions.

As my mind mulls this over, I find myself wondering if that’s why many people suffer from depression. Could having a world which is only on the mundane level, never seeing the phantasmagorical bliss embodied in those other dimensions keep a person locked away from the full beauty of the world we live in, on, around and through? I can only speak for myself and know that when I denied myself the bliss of regular dancing; when I closed myself off from joyful emotions; when my spirituality was a cold, hard stone buried deep inside of me, I was most assuredly depressed. Not clinically or to the point of digging a hole and pulling it in with me, but there were times where I was damned close, and only the fact that I had two little girls to raise kept me on the lighter side of sanity.

So when I speak now of the mundane world or mundane things, it comes from a woman who has been on both sides of that wavy line we call sanity, and come out smiling.

My gratitudes tonight are:
1. I am grateful for my transition from the mundane to the extraordinary.
2. I am grateful for the people who have entered my life since the transition.
3. I am grateful for all of the times I’ve let go of someone in the past, knowing that the release was what was best for both of us.
4. I am grateful for all of the positive energy zinging through me.
5. I am grateful for abundance; joy, love, harmony, peace, health and prosperity.

Namaste

Comments on: "August 9, 2014 How Mundane" (3)

  1. ordinary course of events… huh…

    Like

  2. Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?

    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time making a
    decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs
    and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

    • No problem at all. I just switched over from Blogspot (Google) to WordPress so that I have a smooth transition when I finally manage to launch my website. WordPress has a website developing tool as well, and will easily incorporate any blog I might be writing using their Blogging tool. I wish I could give you more but I’m unfamiliar with the other platforms you mentioned. Good luck and be sure to send me a link when you get up and running!

      Like

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

